Commercial Laws on Speeding Tickets in Missouri
Commercial Motor Vehicles
- People who operate CMVs do so only after obtaining a commercial driver's license (CDL). CMVs are vehicles designed specifically for the transporting of people and goods for profit. CMVs have a gross vehicle weight (GVWR) of at least 26,001 pounds.
Rules and Limits
- In Missouri, the basic speed rule requires of anyone who operates either a private motor vehicle or a CMV to do so in a manner that is prudent and careful, to the highest degree. It also requires that traveling via motor vehicle should be done only at a rate of speed that does not endanger the life, limb or property of anyone.
The Missouri legislature has set the legal speed limit statutorily at 55 miles per hour (MPH) on urban two-lane roads; 60 MPH on rural two-lane roads and urban highways, expressways and freeways; 65 MPH on rural expressways; and 70 MPH on rural highways and freeways.
- Because CMVs have so much more potential to cause severe damage to limbs, ends lives and destroy property, the Missouri legislature has created penalties for speeding in a CMV that are more costly to the CMV operators than if the same offense were committed by the operator of a private motor vehicle.
In Missouri, the CMV operator can be disqualified for a period of time from operating a CMV if the CMV operator receives a certain number of speeding violations within a three-year period. If three citations are received, the CMV will be disqualified for a minimum of 120 days. If two are received that include careless, reckless, imprudent driving, then the disqualification is for a minimum of 60 days.
This disqualification is in addition to the normal speeding penalties.