Travel & Places Australia

Melbourne Cup 2010

  • Americain has won the 2010 Melbourne Cup at Flemington Racecourse, followed by Maluckyday, second, and raging hot favorite So You Think, third.
    The US-bred Americain, winner of the Geelong Cup in October, had previously won over 2900m and twice over 3000m in France.

    Americain is trained by Alain de Toyer-Dupre and was ridden by Hong Kong-based French jockey Gerald Mosse. The horse is Australian-owned.

    This year's Melbourne Cup is the 150th running of Australia's biggest racing event with prizemoney of more than $6 million.

    A Group 1 handicap race over 3200 metres, the Melbourne Cup is run at or close to 3pm, Australian eastern daylight saving time, on the first Tuesday in November.

    Unbroken tradition

    The Melbourne Cup has been run each year without fail since 1861. The 2010 Melbourne Cup is the 150th in an unbroken series.

    Lead-up Races

    Lead-up races to the 2010 Melbourne Cup included the Turnbull Stakes at Flemington Racecourse, home of the Melbourne Cup, on October 3, Caulfield Cup at Caulfield Racecourse on October 16, Cox Plate at Monee Valley Racecourse on October 23 and Victoria Derby at Flemington on October 30.

    The 24 horses running in the 2010 Melbourne Cup were made known after the last race on Victoria Derby Day, the Saturday before Melbourne Cup Day.

    Irish racehorse Bauer was scratched on the morning of Melbourne Cup Day. Bauer ran second to Viewed in the 2008 Melbourne Cup.

    Number, Horse, Weight, Barrier, Trainer, Jockey

    1. Shocking, 57kg, 24, Mark Kavanagh, Michael Rodd
    2. Campanologist (USA), 56kg, 19, Saeed Bin Suroor, Kerrin McEvoy
    3. So You Think (New Zealand), 56kg, 3, Bart Cummings, Steven Arnold
    4. Zipping, 55.5kg, 16, Robert Hickmott, Nicholas Hall
    5. Illustrious Blue (Great Britain), 55kg, 9, William J Knight, Glen Boss
    6. Mr Medici (Ireland), 55kg, 5, Peter Ho, Darren Beadman
    7. Shoot Out, 55kg, 17, John Wallace, Corey Brown
    8. Americain (USA), 54.5kg, 12, Alain de Royer Dupre, Gerald Mosse
    9. Tokai Trick (Japan), 54.5kg, 4, Kenji Nonaka, Shinji Fujita
    10. Buccellatti (Great Britain), 54kg, 21, Tony Noonan, Steven King
    11. Descarado (New Zealand), 54kg, 1, Gai Waterhouse, Nash Rawiller
    12. Harris Tweed (New Zealand), 54kg, 13, Murray & Bjorn Baker, Brad Rawiller
    13. Manighar (France), 54kg, 20, Luca Cumani, Damien Oliver
    14. Master O'Reilly (New Zealand), 54kg, 18, Danny O'Brien, Vlad Duric
    15. Monaco Consul (New Zealand), 54kg, 14, Michael Moroney, Craig Williams
    16. Profound Beauty (Ireland), 54kg, 22, Dermot K Weld, Patrick Smullen
    17. Zavite (New Zealand), 54kg, 7, Anthony Cummings, Michael Walker
    18. Baeur (Ireland), 53.5kg, 2, Luca Cumani, Chris Munce - Scratched
    19. Holberg (United Arab Emirates), 53.5kg, 10, Saeed Bin Suroor, Frankie Dettori
    20. Precedence (New Zealand), 53.5kg, 15, Bart Cummings, James Winks replacing injured Blake Shinn
    21. Red Ruler (New Zealand), 53.5kg, 8, John Sargent, Mark De Plessis
    22. Linton, 52kg, 23, Robert Hickmott, Brett Prebble
    23. Once Were Wild, 51.5kg, 11, Gai Waterhouse, Jim Cassidy
    24. Maluckyday (New Zealand), 51kg, 6, Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes, Luke Nolen

    You might also like on "Travel & Places"

    Leave a reply