Laws on Window Tint in State of Connecticut
Degree of Tint
- Connecticut law determines the allowable darkness of tint using the Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%). This percentage refers to the visible light allowed in through the combination of film and the window. The maximum tint darkness on the side windows, front or back, must allow more than 35 percent of the light to enter the window. The windshield is only allowed to carry non-reflective tint along the top.
- Reflective tinting film contains metallic particles which gives the film reflective qualities. For both front and side windows, no more than 21 percent of the light can be reflected. There are no restrictions for tinting and reflective properties on the rear window. However, dual side mirrors are required if the back window is tinted.
- Connecticut law concerns itself primarily with the tint's darkness and reflective properties, so colored tints are not banned in Connecticut. The state also requires a sticker to identify legal tinting, which must be placed between the film and the window by a licensed window tint installer. All manufacturers are required to certify their tint as legal in Connecticut, and it is suggested that you ask the installer to show this certification.