Society & Culture & Entertainment Education

Pacific Rim and Economic Tigers (Part 2)


The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) organization is composed of 18 Pacific Rim countries. They are responsible for the production of about 80% of the world's computer and high tech components. The countries of the organization, which has a small administrative headquarters, include: Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, and the United States.

APEC was formed in 1989 to promote free trade and economic integration of the member nations. The heads of state of the member nations met in 1993 and in 1996 while trade officials have annual meetings.

From Chile to Canada and Korea to Australia, the Pacific Rim is definitely a region to watch as barriers between the countries are loosened and population grows not only in Asia but also along the Pacific coast of the Americas. The interdependency is likely to increase but can all of the countries win?

For More Information

De Blij, Harm. Harm De Blij's Geography Book.

World Almanac and Book of Facts 1998

Leave a reply