Society & Culture & Entertainment sports & Match

The FIFA Club World Cup

The FIFA Club World Cup is a tournament played every year in December.

The tournament is contested by the champion clubs from each of the six continental confederations and the league winners from the host nation.

The tournament comprises the continental confederation winners of:

Asian Football Confederation (AFC)
Confederation of African Football (CAF)
Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF)
South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL)
Oceania Football Confederation (OFC)
Union of European Football Associations (UEFA)

If the league winner from the host nation has already qualified for the tournament, their place shall go to the next best placed team in the host confederation’s competition.

The opening match of the tournament is played by the team from the host nation and the club of the OFC.

The winner of this match then goes into the quarter-final draw where they are joined by clubs of the AFC, CAF and CONCACAF.

The losing teams from the quarter finals will contest a fifth place playoff.

The two winners of the quarter-finals will then face the clubs of CONMEBOL and UEFA, with the latter clubs being kept apart in the draw.

The losers will contest a third/fourth place play-off and the winners will face eachother in the final to decide the winner of the FIFA Club World Cup.

If a match is level at the end of normal time, two 15-minute periods of extra time will be played.

If a match has still not been decided after extra time, it will go to penalties.

This is the case in five of the seven matches, with the exceptions being the fifth and third place playoff matches which will go straight to penalty kicks.


The inaugural Intercontinental Cup took place in 1960. This was as a result of the inauguration of the European Champions Cup in 1955 and South America’s Copa Libertadores in 1960. The creation of the Intercontinental Cup was intended to decide the world’s best club each year, with the winner being recognized as the de facto club world champions. The competition was endorsed by UEFA and CONMEBOL.

In 2000 FIFA introduced the Club World Championship, which admitted all the continental confederation champions. Initially, this failed to become an annual event but became so in 2005 when the FIFA Club World Championship was renamed to the FIFA Club World Cup.

FIFA Club World Cup Winners

Past finals

2011 Barcelona 4-0 Santos
2010 Inter Milan 3-0 TP Mazembe
2009 Barcelona 2-1 Estudiantes (after extra-time)
2008 Manchester United 1-0 LDU Quito
2007 AC Milan 4-2 Penarol
2006 Internacional 1-0 Barcelona
2005 Sao Paulo 1-0 Liverpool
2000 Corinthians 0-0 Vasco da Gama (Corinthians won 4-2 on penalties)

Leave a reply