Here are highlights from Michigan law on driving while intoxicated (MI Vehicle Code sections 257.625 to 257.626c). Click on the links for further explanation of the legal terms associated with drunk driving in Michigan.
'Per Se' BAC Level: .08
Zero Tolerance BAC Level: .02
Enhanced Penalty BAC Level: None
Implied Consent Law: Yes
License Suspension 1st Offense: 6 months
License Suspension 2nd Offense: 1 year
License Suspension 3rd Offense: Varies
Mandatory Jail Time after 2nd offense: Yes
Mandatory Alcohol Education: Yes
Mandatory Assessment/Treatment: Yes
Possible Ignition Interlock: After 2nd offense
Possible Vehicle Confiscation: After 2nd offense
Hardship License while license suspended: No
Open Container Law: For driver and passenger
These are highlights of the main provisions of Michigan law pertaining to drunk driving. Other factors can increase the penalties for drunk driving, such as if an injury or death occurred or if a child was endangered.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving in Michigan, contact an attorney in your area to determine you rights and responsibilities.
Source: MI Vehicle Code sections 257.625 to 257.626c