Arizona Car Insurance Requirements
- Arizona insurance law requires drivers to obtain a bodily injury policy that provides at least $15,000 for injury to one person and $30,000 for injury to two or more people. This insurance covers liability of the policy holder if found at fault. It will not cover any injuries to the driver himself. Drivers interested in obtaining coverage for personal injury should take out medical payments coverage.
- Arizona drivers must have at least $10,000 in coverage for property damage, including another driver’s vehicle, buildings or other structures. This insurance will not cover damages to the policyholder’s car. Collision coverage pays for this damage.
Maintaining Car Insurance
- Once a policy has been in effect for more than 60 days, insurance carriers cannot terminate the policy unless the driver has committed specific offenses. They include neglecting to pay premiums, getting a license suspension or revocation while the policy is in effect, or having a criminal conviction within the previous 36 months for violations such as a DUI, leaving the scene of an accident or criminal negligence with a vehicle that results in death or serious injury.
Policy holders can also not renew a policy for the same reasons, as well as additional ones, including at least three at-fault accidents by the same person covered under the policy within 36 months before the date of renewal in which each accident resulted in a certain amount of payouts for property damage. The maximum amount changes yearly and as of 2010, it is $2,360, according to the Insurance Department. Carriers however, cannot opt for nonrenewal if the driver has held a policy with the company for at least 10 years in a row.